MINUTES OF THE MEETING OF THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS OF THE FRANKLIN COUNTY WATER DISTRICT HELD: April 5, 1972

SPECIAL CALLED MEETING
RE: CANVASSING VOTES
DIRECTORS WAIVED NOTICE IN
WRITING.

THE STATE OF TEXAS

FRANKLIN COUNTY WATER DISCTRICT:

COUNTY OF FRANKLIN

ON THIS the 5th day of April, 1972, the Board of Directors of the Franklin County Water District convened in a SPECIAL CALLED SESSION at their office located at 114 North Houston Street on the east side of the square in Mount Vernon, Texas, for the purpose of canvassing the votes of the election held April 4, 1972, with the following members present:

W. C. NEWSOME PRESIDENT
LANDON RAMSAY VICE PRESIDENT
A. J. LAWS DIRECTOR
K. P. LESTER DIRECTOR
BILLY M. JORDAN DIRECTOR

and with the following absent: NONE.

Also present were the following: Marion W. Russell, General Manager of the District; Woodrow Edwards, Attorney for the District; Berniece E. Meek, Assistant Manager of the District; and Ennis D. Christenberry.

The President of the Board called the meeting to order, declared a quorum present and that the meeting was duly convened and ready to transact business.

President Newsome made a very warm and moving farewell speech wherein he expressed his appreciation to Art Postel, Walter Hicks, Jr., John Cowan, L. J. Flanagan, Texas Water Development Board, Texas Water Rights Commission, Representative Neal Solomon, Judge Neal Duvall, James T. Bass, The City Government of Mt. Vernon, The Chamber of Commerce of Mount Vernon, The First National Bank, Mt. Vernon, Texas, The Mt. Vernon Rotary Club, the Junior Shakespeare Club of Mt. Vernon, The Texas Parks & Wildlife Department, all the taxpayers of Franklin County Water District, Berniece E. Meek, Marion W. Russell, Woodrow Edwards, Mr. D. O. Aldridge, Horris Morris, A. J. Laws, Billy Jordan and K. P. Lester for their untiring work and support given to the Franklin County Water District in the construction of LAKE CYRESS SPRINGS on Big Cypress Creek.

A RESOLUTION canvassing Returns and Declaring the Result of the Election held April 4, 1972, was passed, approved and adopted. Said Resolution is attached to these Minutes and made a part thereof.

After the canvassing of the returns, and it was determined that Ennis D. Christenberry and Billy M. Jordan had received the majority of the votes and were duly elected Directors of the Franklin

County Water District, Mr. Newsom retired from the meeting and LANDON RAMSAY, acting as President organized the meeting as follows:

LANDON RAMSAY appointed Woodrow Edwards As Temporary Presiding Officer whereupon Mr. Edwards announced that the floor was open for nominations for the office of President of the Board of Directors of the Franklin County Water District. K. P. LESTER nominated LANDON RAMSAY for the office of President of the Board of Directors. A second to the nomination was made by A. J. LAWS. ENNIS D. CHRISTENBERRY moved that the nominations cease and that Landon Ramsay be elected President of the Board by acclamation. Mr. Edwards called for the question and all members present voted "AYF,". None voted "NO". Mr. Edwards announced that LANDON RAMSAY was duly elected President of the Board of Directors of the Franklin County Water District, and turned the meeting over to Mr. Ramsay.

Mr. Ramsay accepted the office of President and opened the floor for nominations for Vice President of the Board of Directors of the Franklin County Water District, whereupon, K. P. LESTER nominated .A. J. LAWS for Vice President and a second to the nomination was made by BILLY M. JORDAN. ENNIS D. CHRISTENBERRY moved that the nominations cease and that A. J. Laws be elected Vice President by acclamation. The President put the question and all members present voted "AYE". None voted "NO". Mr. Ramsay announced that A. J. LAWS had been duly elected Vice President of the Board of Directors of the Franklin County Water District. Mr. Laws accepted the position of Vice President.

MOTION was made by ENNIS D. CHRISTENBERRY, and duly seconded by A. J. LAWS, that Berniece E. Meek be appointed as Secretary of the Franklin County Water District. The President put the question, and after full discussion had thereon, all members present voted "AYE". None voted "NO".

MOTION was made by A. J. LAWS, and duly seconded by BILLY M. JORDAN, to make payment of all expenses incurred in the holding of the election. The President put the question and, after full discussion had thereon, all members present voted "AYF,". None voted "NO". The expenses are as follows:

Check No.

| 482 | Calvin Raley - Election Judge - Absentee Voting | 20.00 |
|-----|--|-------|
| 483 | Elois Petty - Election Judge - Mt. Vernon Box | 20.00 |
| 484 | Jack Petty - Election Clerk - Mt. Vernon Box | 15.00 |
| 485 | Marie Cowan - Election Clerk - Mt. Vernon Box | 15.00 |
| 486 | Jeanette Colley - Election Clerk - Mt. Vernon Box | 15.00 |
| 487 | Martha Hare - Election Judge - Hagansport Box | 20.00 |
| 488 | Mrs. J. C. Hare - Election Clerk - Hagansport Box | 15.00 |
| 489 | Mrs. H. A. Weaver - Election Clerk - Hagansport Box | 15.00 |
| 490 | Mrs. Dewey Tillery - Election Clerk - Hagansport Box | 15.00 |
| 491 | F. 0. Browning - Election Judge - Winnsboro Box | 20.00 |
| 492 | Mrs. F. O. Browning - Election Clerk - Winnsboro Box | 15.00 |
| 493 | Mrs. C. M. Roberts - Election Clerk - Winnsboro Box | 15.00 |
| 494 | R. L. Taylor - Election Clerk - Winnsboro Box | 15.00 |
| 495 | W. B. Swanner - Election Judge - South Franklin Box | 20.00 |
| 496 | Mrs. Lorene Graves - Election Clerk - South Franklin Box | 15.00 |
| 497 | Mrs. A. V. Seay - Election Clerk - South Franklin Box | 15.00 |
| 498 | Betty Boles - Election Clerk- South Franklin Box | 15.00 |
| | | |

499 Berniece E. Meek - Reimbursement for mileage TOTAL DISBURSEMENTS FROM MAINTENANCE & OPERATING FUND

<u>8.90</u> \$288.90

There being no further business, the meeting was adjourned.

MINUTES APPROVED this the 17 day of April, 1972.

| Landon Ramsay, President |
|----------------------------------|
| A.J. Laws, Vice President |
| K.P. Lester, Director |
| Billy M. Jordan, Director |
| Ennis D. Christenberry, Director |